This Day In History
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
On This Day

February 4, 1861

Great Seal
Great Seal
In Montgomery, Alabama, delegates from six break-away U.S. states meet and form the Confederate States of America. The Confederate States of America (also called the Confederacy, the Confederate States, C.S.A. and The South) was a government set up from 1861 to 1865 by eleven Southern slave states that had declared their secession from the United States. Secessionists argued that the United States Constitution was a compact among states, an agreement which each state could abandon without consultation. The U.S. government (The Union) rejected secession as illegal. Following a Confederate attack upon Fort Sumter, a federal fort in the Confederate state of South Carolina, the U.S. used military action to defeat the Confederacy. No foreign nation officially recognized the Confederate States of America as an independent country, but several did grant belligerent status.
Confederate States of America,American Civil War
© 2011-2019, «»