This Day In History
Thursday, October 28, 2021
On This Day



Deprecated: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in /home/vh5u15655/domains/ on line 67

March 5, 1975

First meeting of the Homebrew Computer Club The Homebrew Computer Club was an early computer hobbyist users' group in Silicon Valley, which met (under that name) from March 5, 1975 to December 1986. Several very high-profile hackers and IT entrepreneurs emerged from its ranks, including the founders of Apple Inc.
Homebrew Computer Club, Apple

March 26, 1975

The Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) comes into force. A draft of the BWC, submitted by the British was opened for signature on April 10, 1972 and entered into force March 26, 1975 when twenty-two governments had deposited their instruments of ratification. It currently commits the 165 states that are party to it to prohibit the development, production, and stockpiling of biological and toxin weapons. However, the absence of any formal verification regime to monitor compliance has limited the effectiveness of the Convention. (Note: As of October 2011, an additional 12 states have signed the BWC but have yet to ratify it)
Biological Weapons Convention, biological weapons

March 27, 1975

Construction of the Trans-Alaska...
Construction of the Trans-Alaska Pipeline System begins. The Trans Alaska Pipeline System (TAPS), includes the Trans Alaska Pipeline, 11 pump stations, several hundred miles of feeder pipelines, and the Valdez Marine Terminal. TAPS is one of the world's largest pipeline systems. It is commonly called the Alaska Pipeline, Trans Alaska Pipeline, or Alyeska Pipeline, (or the Pipeline as referred to in Alaska), but those terms technically apply only to the 800 miles (1,287 km) of the pipeline with the diameter of 48 inches (122 cm) that conveys oil from Prudhoe Bay, to Valdez, Alaska. The crude oil pipeline is privately owned by the Alyeska Pipeline Service Company.
Trans-Alaska Pipeline System, pipeline

December 1, 1975

Lambda Theta Phi - The first Latino fraternity is established in New Jersey. Lambda Theta Phi is a non-profit social fraternity emphasizing Latin unity and the celebration of the Latin culture. In 1992 Lambda Theta Phi was accepted into the North-American Interfraternity Conference. In 1994, with the release of The History of Lambda Theta Phi, Latin Fraternity, Inc., the fraternity published a historical account about its organization.
Lambda Theta Phi, New Jersey, fraternity


December 17, 1975
Milla Jovovich

Milla Jovovich is an American model, actress, musician, and fashion designer. Over her career, she has appeared in a number of science fiction and action-themed films, for which music channel VH1 has referred to her as the "reigning queen of kick-butt".
December 30, 1975
Tiger Woods

Eldrick Tont "Tiger" Woods is an American professional golfer whose achievements to date rank him among the most successful golfers of all time. Formerly the World No. 1, he is the highest-paid professional athlete in the world, having earned an estimated US$90.5 million from winnings and endorsements in 2010.


February 14, 1975
P G Wodehouse

Sir Pelham Grenville Wodehouse was a British humorist, whose body of work includes novels, short stories, plays, poems, song lyrics, and numerous pieces of journalism. He enjoyed enormous popular success during a career that lasted more than seventy years and his many writings continue to be widely read.
April 5, 1975
Chiang Kai-shek

Chiang Kai-shek was a political and military leader of 20th century China. He is known as Jiǎng Jièshí or Jiǎng Zhōngzhèng in Mandarin.
October 30, 1975
Gustav Ludwig Hertz

Gustav Ludwig Hertz was a German experimental physicist and Nobel Prize winner, and a nephew of Heinrich Rudolf Hertz.
November 20, 1975
Francisco Franco

Francisco Franco y Bahamonde was a Spanish general and head of state of Spain from October 1936 (as a unified nation from 1939 onwards), and de facto regent of the nominally restored Kingdom of Spain from 1947 until his death in November, 1975.
November 29, 1975
Graham Hill

Norman Graham Hill was an English racing driver, team owner, and two-time Formula One World Champion. He is the only driver to win the Triple Crown of Motorsport — the 24 Hours of Le Mans, Indianapolis 500 and Formula One World Championship.
© 2011-2019, «»